Alopecia Areata
Inflammatory Alopecia
Other Alopecias
Hair Shaft Defects
Hirsutism / Hypertrichosis
Hair Cosmetics
Products and Services

FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
The time now is Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:29 pm.All times are GMT
<Previous Thread|Next Thread>
General - FAQ
Author: adminSite Admin
Post Sun Jul 06, 2003 9:58 am

General - FAQ

Here is a general FAQ compiled by Joy from the many messages on this board.

General – FAQ

Q) Kevin, what kind of doctor are you?

A) A question I ask myself every day! I am a scientist – a Ph.D. I am not a clinical dermatologist. My research focuses on hair follicles, how they work, and what happens to them in diseases such as alopecia areata.

Q) Kevin, can you give me a diagnosis?

A) No! As I am not a clinical dermatologist I have not been trained to diagnose hair diseases. Without knowing your full medical history and without being able to make a full examination or run tests it is not possible for anyone to make diagnoses over the internet.

Q) Where can I find photo's of hair loss on the net?

At the moment there are no web image databases that focus exclusively on hair loss, but there are some dermatology databases that include images of hair loss conditions.

http://dermatlas.med.jhmi.edu/derm/
http://www-medlib.med.utah.edu/kw/derm/
http://www.meddean.luc.edu/lumen/MedEd/medicine/dermatology/melton/atlas.htm
http://tray.dermatology.uiowa.edu/ImageBase.html
http://www.dermis.net/doia/mainmenu.asp?zugr=d<=e

Q) Where can I get information on hair research?